Free Shipping: On orders of $100 or more. Take advantage of this offer while supplies last! 30 Day Unconditional Satisfaction Guarantee. Find Out More

Ameda Purely Yours Breast Pump

Value
Quality
Price
36 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$159.95

Quick Overview

The Ameda Purely Yours breast pump is a personal use, electric breast pump that offers mom-friendly features and efficient pumping.

More Views

Customer Reviews

Items 21 to 30 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
I like it Review by nadia
Price
Quality
Value
I like the pump. I was using Playtex before that, and I like this one better. It's worth the price and it's quiet compared to the Playtex. I just ordered the flexshields so it's more comfortable than the plastic rubbing on your breasts. This pump is really close to the Medela that I used at the hospital. (Posted on 1/11/10)
Great Pump, Why Pay More? Review by MOM
Quality
Value
Price
This pump is great. Easy to use and clean. You can adjust the speed and suction yourself to get the perfect combination instead of relying on the manufacturer's idea of what will work for you. I wrap mine in a blanket to make it quieter and after a couple minutes I tune it out altogether. Its about as loud as the motor on my baby's swing and no louder than my friends Pump in Style. I use it 4 times a day. It took me about 4 days to get the settings right because I was trying to duplicate the experience my Avent manual pump. That was the wrong thing to do. I keep the cycle at about 75% and the suction at about 25% and I get 2 4oz bottles in about 15-20 minutes. Every time I use it I feel good about not spending the extra money for a Medela. Especially since there is no way for milk to back up into the tubing and motor the way the Medela website warns it can on their products. I cringe every time I see one of them for sale on Craigslist. Do your own research and then buy this system. (Posted on 12/30/09)
Excellent Pump, No Problems at All Review by Elizabeth
Quality
Value
Price
I use this pump to pump mostly at home, every once in a while at work (in a single, private bathroom). I use it mostly once a day, sometimes two times. I have really like it, and haven't had a single problem with it. It does not seem too loud to me - you can hear it, but it never seems distracting. I find the pieces easy to clean - we wash them with the dishes with hot soapy water. It pumps plenty of breastmilk - very efficient, doesn't hurt (once you are used to it), comfortable to use, etc. I do only one side at a time because it was too much to manage holding both at the same time. I also breastfeed and use this to provide him milk when I am away, so I can't speak to how good this pump is if you are providing milk exclusively by pumping. In short, for daily, but not intense use, this has worked really well for us for the last six months. I would recommend it to someone in a similar situation. (Posted on 12/30/09)
Best value of any pump on the market. Review by Regina RN
Quality
Value
Price
The Ameda Purely Yours is by far the most affordable, highest quality, personal use breast pump on the market. It is also one of the safest to use, because of its closed-system design. I recommend this pump to anyone that will be pumping very little or very often. It covers every type of need. 5 Stars! (Posted on 12/16/09)
First Time Breastfeeder Review by New Mommy
Price
Value
Quality
This is a great pump to have. It is small, convenient and durable. I can pump nearly 4oz in 10 minutes. I did not purchase the bag. I used a black diaper bag given to me while I was in the hospital. It is not fancy, but it serves it's purpose. This item was great to use when I returned to work. I have been using it for nearly three months. (Posted on 10/27/09)
great pump Review by JMaris
Price
Value
Quality
I purchased this pump after reading a lot of reviews on it and other brands. I finally decided to take a jump and go for this one. I'm glad I did. It works really well, don't have to worry about cleaning the tubing, and the flanges and bottles are really easy to clean. I gave it 4 stars only because the motor on the pump is a little loud, not loud to say you wouldn't be heard if talking, but just loud enough for someone to know something was going on, if you're trying to be discreet, but oh well. For the price, its still a good buy. (Posted on 7/11/09)
Best for the money Review by M. Carlson
Price
Value
Quality
With all of the free insulated bags the hospital gave us, I'm so glad I didn't spend the extra money on the carrying totes. So far the pump works great. I only gave it four stars because I'm not sure if the dual pumping works evenly. One bottle always seems to fill slow. However, I haven't used it enough to decided if its me or the pump. Also, its a little louder than I expected. However, this is my first pump so I don't have anything to compair it to. I love the adjustable suction, but which I could go even faster with the cycles. My baby is a all buisness eater, so he goes fast. However, so far, pumping goes pretty fast. (Posted on 7/7/09)
A good pump at a good price Review by Dena Hurst
Price
Value
Quality
I bought this pump after hearing that it was well liked by other people who owned it and that it was half the price of the Medela Pump in Style. The Ameda pump is satisfactory - I like the ability to adjust both the speed and the amount of suction. It is also small enough to carry easily if needed. Another plus of the Ameda is that there is no way that the milk can ever get into the tubing due to the pump design. (Medela pumps don't work this way).

The only downside I have noticed in the pump is that there are very fragile valves on each pump. I've broken 2 of them already in one month even with gentle treatment. Replacement valves run about $2.50 apeiece, so I went ahead and ordered 8.

If you're looking to save money, just order the pump without the bag. I know I have tons of soft coolers at home that I plan to use instead of spending an extra $50 for yet another bag and cooler. (Posted on 7/5/09)
Great Pump, but it's a little noisy Review by H. Wong
Price
Value
Quality
This pump works well, and I am quite satisfied with it's function -- after 2 months of pumping, I am able to pump out 6-7 ounces of breastmilk within 15-20 minutes if I don't pump for 4-5 hours.

Pros:
1. The 2009 model is BPA-free (model # 17070).
2. Efficient pumping -- I am able to pump out 6-7 ounces of breastmilk within 15-20 minutes; 3-4 oz within 7-10 minutes.
3. Can pump both breasts at the same time (more efficient usually), or you can pump one at a time (I do this when I have my baby nurse on one side while I pump on the other).
4. You can set and control vacuum strength & cycle speed -- you have full control to set it to the level that is comfortable for you.
5. Simple to use because it has few parts, and they are easy to assemble.
6. Easy to clean the parts.
7. Can use either an AC adaptor or batteries to power it.
8. Less expensive than most other electric breast pumps -- I'm glad I didn't have to pay $200-300 for a pump.
9. Has a one-year warranty.

Cons:
1. Is not contained in a carrying case, making it somewhat noisy -- it makes a distinct noise and it beeps.

Other hints:
1. Buy a "hands-free nursing bra" or make your own with an existing no-wire bra -- this would allow you to do other tasks while you're pumping; I actually have my lunch at work while I pump.
2. Store your breastmilk in storage bottles if you plan to use it within a few days; store it in Lansinoh storage bags (very good quality bags, and they are BPA-free) if you plan to freeze it. (Posted on 6/30/09)
Easy to use, easy to clean Review by Pasilaly
Price
Value
Quality
I bought the Purely Yours after debating and researching between it and the Medela Pump in Style. While I never tried the latter, I have been quite happy with the one I got! I must note that though I pump every day, it's only once a day, and I do it at home, so I don't have concerns about noise or industrial strength pumping.

The pumping: It's comfortable for me, and the adjustable suction and speed are key. It is easy to switch between single and dual pumping. If you're going for the latter, though, I strongly recommend getting a hands-free pumping bra, because it's a bit much to juggle both bottles and the dials, particularly if you are also trying to keep an eye on your baby (which I do, pumping in the morning). I do get plenty of milk with this pump.

The noise: It doesn't seem so noisy to me, but I do it at home; I might be more aware of the noise if I were pumping at work. It makes a small beeping noise with each pump in addition to the motor noise. Sometimes I put a pillow over it to muffle the sound if the babe is next to me and on the verge of sleeping.

Cleaning: It's a breeze! I fill a bowl with hot soapy water and stick the pieces in there while I do the rest of the dishes, and that does it. I have heard that the white valves are easily torn, but I haven't had any problem with that, possibly because I'm careful with them as a result of having heard about their fragility. But then again my husband never read about the fragile valves, and he's never torn one either (and yes, he does wash the pump pieces often!). The pump comes with 6 valves, and I'm still on my first two (though I've only been pumping 2 months).

Portability: This version does not come with a bag, which I don't need. It is very small and light, though, so if you do need to carry it around I don't think that would be any problem. If you're pumping away from home, I would spend the extra money and get one of the bags that is made to fit the pump and all the other pieces.

Storage: I use the Playtex One Step storage system to store the breastmilk, and I've been quite happy with that. It's no problem to use them together, the adapter fits perfectly.

Basically, this pump is great, and I plan to stick with it for future children! My only advice to others shopping for a pump would be to consider other brands. I only considered Ameda and Medela, because that's what the hospital recommended. However, I've been eyeballing other pumps since I bought mine, and it looks like others have come up with some innovations that would be worth checking out. (Posted on 6/25/09)

Items 21 to 30 of 36 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Ameda Purely Yours Breast Pump

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Value
Quality
Price

© 2012. Ameda Direct. All Rights Reserved.